Feel Good

Caring for ourselves is key to being able to care for others… The Congress offers ample opportunity to restore our inner tranquility and help us achieve a sense of well-being. The importance of music and the arts in our psychological well-being is also featured in the much loved Reflections and in the inclusion of music as an integral element in various activities.

Photo: istock/Thinkstock.com

Self-Care Activities

Organized by Hope and Cope, Jewish General Hospital, Montréal

Self care activities offered include:

Integral Tai-Chi

Developed by Master Hang Truong, Integral Tai-chi is a system of health improvement exercises designed for all ages, founded upon the principles drawn from traditional Tai-chi, Qigong, and Yoga. Its core philosophy, based on the Buddhist teachings of Prajna Wisdom, is to develop a spirit of transcendence, self mastery and harmony. The body language in the ten forms of Integral Tai-chi is designed to integrate our body, mind and spirit, connect the inside with the outside, embrace self and others. Integral Tai-chi is taught by many certified instructors in Canada, the US, Europe and Taiwan.

Yoga

Yoga is a form of exercise from India with the aim of reaching a state of peace and relaxation. There are different types, but all involve muscle stretching, controlled breathing and meditation. Movements will be accessible to all levels and will invigorate the practitioners for the day ahead.

Stretch and Balance

This activity consists of a mix of stretching and balance exercises to improve your mobility and agility while focusing on better posture. Good posture provides energy and enables you to use your body more efficiently.

Walking & Body Weight Exercises
      (Outdoor Activity)

This activity will consist of a short, brisk walk followed by exercises done entirely using your own body weight.


Space is limited. Participants must pre-register for these activities.

Click here to sign up.

Live Music Before Plenaries

Arrive 30 minutes before each plenary to be inspired by the live music of these world class musicians

Montreal-based guitarist Antoine Dufour deftly combines jaw-dropping guitar playing skills and an artistic soul in crafting instrumental compositions that transcend global cultures and languages. That he does this in an incredibly visual and entertaining style has endeared him to a broad spectrum of fans of popular music.

(Opening Plenary and Plenary 2*)
*Plenary 2: the music will follow the Research Forum, i.e., from 8:45 to 9:00.
Jeff Johnston has been active as a pianist for over twenty five years and is considered "clearly in Canada's top ranks" (Toronto Star). He has performed extensively throughout North America and Europe and is the recipient of numerous awards including the prestigious R. Murray Shafer award for composition. Johnston is on faculty at McGill University's Schulich School of Music.

(Plenary 3 and the Closing Plenary)

Need a Moment of Tranquility?

Quiet Room

The Quiet Room is available for participants who wish to have time for private reflection in a tranquil setting.

Meditation

The practice of mindfulness meditation is to be present in the moment; it is a subjective conscious experience that allows the person to be attentive to the movement of his/her thoughts. Mindfulness meditation is an attribute of consciousness which increases the welfare of the person. The emotions of fear and anxiety in stressful situations can be defused by the practice of mindfulness meditation.

The Reflection Room

We invite you to visit The Reflection Room to pause, reflect and share your experiences with dying and death. Does an experience stand out in your memory? Have you been inspired by others? Have you had experiences with family members or friends? Add your reflection to the Reflection Wall and see the collective story that we all are building.

The Reflection Room is a project led by the research team at Saint Elizabeth, a national health care provider supporting residential hospice, education and research. The Reflection Room leverages the power of shared storytelling and experiential design to engage people in thinking and talking about end of life. We are studying whether reflection and storytelling are positive for people who have experienced a death and whether reading the stories of others helps in thinking about dying and death.

Visit us at thereflectionroom.ca and saintelizabeth.com/research

Reflections

Produced by: Shani Komulainen, Gillian McConnell, Dr. Bernard Lapointe

A tradition begun by Dr. Balfour Mount in 1996, the Reflections which open each plenary session have become a well-loved and much appreciated Congress feature. The goal of these images set to music is to provide an introspective moment to lead us from the distractions and preoccupations that crowd our minds, into focussed awareness of shared experience.

Pour se sentir bien

Mieux prendre soin de soi pour bien prendre soin des autres… Le Congrès offre plusieurs occasions de retrouver le calme intérieur et d’atteindre un sentiment de bien-être. La présence de la musique et des arts dans la recherche de notre bien-être psychologique est également un des éléments les plus appréciés du Congrès, tout comme l’ajout de la musique comme élément intégral dans plusieurs autres activités.

Photo: istock/Thinkstock.com

Activités auto-thérapeutiques

Organisées parL’espoir c’est la vie, Hôpital général juif de Montréal

Activités auto-thérapeutiques:

Tai-Chi intégral

Crée par Maître Hang Truong, le tai-chi intégral est un programme d’exercices d’amélioration de la santé conçu pour tous les âges, fondé sur des principes tirés des techniques traditionnelles du tai-chi, du qi gong et du yoga. Sa philosophie fondamentale, basée sur les enseignements bouddhiques de la prajña (sagesse, gnose), vise à développer un esprit de transcendance, de maîtrise de soi et d’harmonie. Le langage corporel des 10 mouvements et postures du tai-chi intégral est conçu pour intégrer le corps, le mental et l’esprit, pour harmoniser l’intérieur et l’extérieur, et se rapprocher d’autrui et de soi-même. Le tai-chi intégral est enseigné par de nombreux instructeurs accrédités au Canada, aux États-Unis, en Europe et à Taïwan.

Yoga

Le yoga est une discipline originaire de l’Inde qui vise à permettre d’atteindre un état de paix et de relaxation. Il en existe différents types, mais tous impliquent l’étirement des muscles, la maîtrise de la respiration et la méditation. Les mouvements accessibles à tous redonneront de l’énergie aux congressistes pour la journée qui les attend.

Étirements et équilibre

Cette activité combine des exercices d'étirement et d'équilibre destinés à améliorer la mobilité et la souplesse tout en visant une meilleure posture. Une bonne posture assure un surcroit d'énergie et vous permet d'utiliser votre corps plus efficacement.

Marche et exercices
       (Activité à l'extérieur)

Une activité axée sur une courte marche rapide suivie d’exercices basés sur votre propre poids corporel.



Nombre de place limité. Les participants doivent se préinscrire à ces activités ici.

Performances musicales avant chaque plénière

Arrivez 30 minutes avant chaque plénière pour vous ressourcer en assistant à des prestations de musiciens de renommée internationale.

Le guitariste montréalais Antoine Dufour combine adroitement un remarquable jeu de guitare et un fascinant souffle artistique afin de tisser des compositions instrumentales qui transcendent les cultures et les langues. Il le fait dans un style des plus divertissants qui a séduit un large éventail d’amateurs de musique populaire.

(Plénière d’ouverture et 2e Plénière*)
*2e Plénière : la prestation musicale suivra le Forum de recherche, de 8 h 45 à 9 h
Jeff Johnston se produit comme pianiste depuis plus de vingt-cinq ans, et on le considère comme « faisant clairement partie des meilleurs au Canada » (Toronto Star). Il a donné une foule de concerts dans toute l’Amérique du Nord et en Europe, et a reçu de nombreuses récompenses dont le prestigieux Prix R. Murray Shafer en composition. J. Johnston est professeur à l’École de musique Schulich de l'Université McGill.

(3e Plénière et Plénière de clôture)

Vous cherchez un moment de tranquillité ?

Salle de repos

Une salle de repos est mise à la disposition des participants qui ont besoin de quelques minutes de réflexion dans une ambiance tranquille.

Méditation attentive guidée

La pratique de la méditation attentive consiste à être présent dans l’instant ; c’est une expérience de consciente subjective qui permet au méditant d’être attentif au mouvement de ses pensées. La méditation attentive est un attribut de la conscience qui accroît le bien-être du méditant. Les émotions de peur et d'inquiétude dans des situations de stress provoqués par la maladie peuvent être désamorcées par la pratique de la méditation attentive.

Salle de réflexion

Nous vous invitons à profiter de la Salle de réflexion pour faire une pause, penser et faire partager vos expériences sur le mourir et la mort. Vous souvenez-vous d’une expérience en particulier? Certaines personnes vous ont-elles inspiré? Qu’avez-vous vécu avec des parents ou des proches? Venez épingler vos pensées au mur de rubans de réflexions et découvrir le récit collectif qui s’y compose.

La Salle de réflexion est un projet conçu par l’équipe de recherche des Services de santé Sainte-Elizabeth, une agence de prestation de services de soins de santé à domicile ainsi que de personnel infirmier, soutenant la formation et la recherche. La Salle de réflexion tire parti du partage de récits et du design expérientiel pour amener les gens à réfléchir et à parler de la fin de vie. Nous tentons de savoir si la réflexion et le fait de raconter son histoire ont des effets positifs pour les personnes ayant vécu un décès, et si la lecture des histoires d’autrui aide à penser au mourir et à la mort.

Visitez : thereflectionroom.ca et saintelizabeth.com/research

Réflexions

Réalisées par Shani Komulainen, Gillian McConnell et Dr Bernard Lapointe

Tradition commencée par le Dr Balfour Mount en 1996, ces réflexions qui ouvrent chacune des sessions plénières sont devenues un élément fort apprécié du Congrès. Le but de ces images mises en musique est de fournir un moment d'introspection pour nous éloigner des distractions et des préoccupations qui encombrent nos esprits pour mieux nous concentrer sur l’expérience partagée.